h1

Loving Your Pets?

19 September 2012

What used to be called the Liberal Party in the UK was, well, er…. liberal, funnily enough.  Why is the largest right-wing party in this country called the Liberal Party?  (I would genuinely like to know so if you have the answer, please post it here).

Today one of its members has really outdone himself.  Senator Cory Bernardi believes that any further legitimising of homosexuality (Parliament was voting on same-sex marriage today) will result in demands for the legalisation of bestiality.  I don’t think I’ve ever come across anyone suggesting such a thing.

But to set the record straight, I don’t think there’s a problem IF:

1.    The animal is fully consenting,  AND

2.    That consent has been given in writing.

3 comments

  1. nice. I love that Cory has started discussions and triggered jokes about bestiality all over Australia. Do you think that was his intention ?


  2. In the US, that ‘argument’ pops up regularly enough. I always have to wonder if it’s a case of a legislator protesting too much ;-)


    • How extraordinry! I think it’s a fairly new one here. I also meant to say in my post that as well as consenting, in writing, the animal should be over the age of 18.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

