h1

There’s Really No Stopping Her…

17 November 2012

Big drum roll please for the launch of a new magazine – Truffle.  This apparently is a “monthly, glossy, high-end lifestyle, handbag-sized, beautiful local magazine.  For free!”.  It will be delivered to households in Saffron Walden, Bishops Stortford and Stansted.

And the Editor is (another drum roll, please) – Kerrie Allman (aka Jenn Smith-Clarke, Tallulah Ray and a few others that don’t immediately spring to mind).

Now before you think that Kerrie has gone out and obtained employment with a reputable publisher, perhaps we should look at the facts. 

Ad. Sales are the responsibility of Claire Smith, aka Claire Barzilay-Smith who used to work for Kerrie and with whom she was launching a magazine called Be Creative (no idea what happened to that one).

Claire registered the domain name for this business on 1st November, at an address in Little Dunmow

One of the advertisements in the magazine is for a marketing company called “5iftyfournine” (no, I don’t get it either).  The domain name for this company was also registered on 1st November, at the same address, by Shirley Rycroft – who as we all know is Kerrie’s mother.

And of course it contains all the usual Kerrie trademarks, including an inability to spell and a complete lack of understanding of English grammar.  As in “The Truffle families favourite Christmas dinner recipes” and the lovely plural “address’s” – to name just a couple.   (Although this can’t beat describing Liberty’s as “infamous” in the last issue of Sew Hip).

As usual with magazines coming from this stable, there is no printer’s name published, which is a legal UK publishing requirement but, what the heck, who cares about silly rules and regulations?

I normally admire persistence but “If at first you don’t succeed” doesn’t really mean just keep doing the same things over and over again in the faint hope that they’ll work out better next time.  Two businesses went bust within 12 months of each other.  Most people would have learnt something from that.

EDITED:  On 17th November, the domain name registration for Truffle was changed from the same address as  5iftyfournine to the address shown in the magazine.  And 5iftyfournine was changed to the same address as the address (which is a postal one only) shown on the Craft Magazine shop site.  I’m glad I was able to point out the “slip up”.

Technorati Tags: , , ,

5 comments

  1. If nothing else, she is persistent. It will be interesting to find out the catch behind it being free. Maybe the ads will lure people into bad investments.


  2. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.


  3. Truffle Shuffle!


  4. Let me introduce myself. I am Claire. Smith is my married name, the surname that my daughter also holds. Barzilay is my maiden name. So understandably for social sites, I clump them together to make Claire Barzilay-Smith. I don’t have to explain that do I? I am hoping you are intelligent enough to understand the reasons behind the two names.
    If I had a £ for every ”can you spell that for me please”, I would be very rich.

    I am wanting to say thank you to you by the way. All this press you keep giving to us, good or bad, is making people want to know more. Which is brilliant. We have had more hits on Truffle in its first few days, (without me even having to do the marketing side), than I could ever dream of. Wicked. Go Truffle!
    (Printers name, will be on the printed version. No need for the digital download. Obviously).
    And just to keep myself at your level for a minute. English grammar. Have you spotted your mistake yet? Easily done!

    I don’t want you to stop what your doing by the way.
    Like I said, it was just a thank you for now.
    Oh, and you have said that you don’t know what has happened to Be Creative magazine, as we said on Facebook….
    Be Creative is a blog for Claire and I to share some of our thoughts and beliefs on creativity. We will be putting together a digital FREE crafty magazine but probably not until next year. Until then we hope you’ll join us here and on the blog and share your creative creations with us. x
    …so nothing yet.

    I understand you don’t live in Saffron Walden, Bishop’s Stortford or Stansted. Even the UK. So if you want to be kept in the loop. Please e-mail me. I will forever keep, interested parties in the loop.

    As always, I will look forward to reading your thoughts.

    Take care.


    • Thank you for your comment. I’ve responded to it in my post of 21st November.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 129 other followers

