h1

I’m Not Very Fond Of . . . Part 2

18 April 2007

‘Values’ is another word that is starting to make the hairs stand up on the back of my neck. 

I believe John Howard is considered by some to be a Great Australian.  To me, he’s a complete twerp – totally devoid of ethics and with the charisma of an amoeba.  However, he’s not only my Prime Minister but also my Federal Member of Parliament so I have to live with him (well, metaphorically speaking . . . literally, it wouldn’t bear thinking about).

As it looks as though he may have a fight on his hands for his Bennelong seat at the next election, he’s already started campaigning in this electorate.  Last week, I received a glossy brochure extolling his achievements and those of his party.

One page is headed “Strong Direction. Mainstream Values”.  What on earth is that supposed to mean?  The text of the leaflet sheds no light.

We get members of the media brigade constantly warning us of the dire consequences that immigration will have/is having on Australian Values.  Right-wing Christian politicians banging on about Family Values.  And we now have Mainstream Values. 

But despite this abundance of values available to us, not one of them bears any resemblance to mine.

And for that I’m extremely grateful.  

6 comments

  1. A very valuable post! 🙂


  2. The lowest common denominator is a value. Just not a very good one. I wish I could think of a catchy phrase to define my values. Lefter than Ghandi doesn’t quite have the right ring to it.


  3. Mainstream Values = sanitised, homogenised and diluted beyond all passion and compassion. Your vote will count this election!


  4. Reminds me of when I worked in parliament in the UK and Mrs Thatcher was PM. Her “values” were the only ones that counted and you were either for her or agin’ her – no middle way. One day, she was going on and on about something being “only plain common sense”. To his credit, one of her own MPs said, “With respect, one person’s common sense is another’s blind prejudice”. For some reason, he never made the front benches…


  5. Don’t get me started on values! you think you’ve got problems, try “living with” a PM whose values drag our country (Britain) into a war NOBODY wanted and nobody voted for. The ramifications of his Domestic policies fall only on us but a foreign policy based on lies that shames us all and leaves thousands dead is more than the vast majoity of citizens can bear. I don’t want to attract too much abuse as a Pom – I know how it goes there – so I won’t go on too much and draw anything negative to yr blog. These “mainstream” values will only generate oppression, discrimination and regression to a fifties sort of society (without the good bits!).


  6. The whole world’s gone mad. I’d rather knit!



Leave a Reply

