h1

A Month in Blog Land

8 May 2007

I’ve been reflecting on my first month of blogging and I think I can say that I’ve enjoyed it.  I picked a dreadful month to start – loads of work and a 4 day Easter trip to Broken Hill (a 13+ hour drive each way) – so didn’t leave myself much time to blog, let alone to knit.

I’d like to have put up lots of photos but that’s more time-consuming than just writing and I’m not exactly a whiz with a camera or photo software.  I promise to put in more effort when I’ve a little more spare time (and a few items actually sewn up, with buttons).

I’ve really enjoyed getting on my soapbox about things and words that annoy me – it’s very therapeutic.  I’ve always been rather self-opinionated and love a good rant so this is a wonderful excuse.

I still find it extraordinary that people I don’t know read my blog and am fascinated by those who find it, accidentally, via Google.  A lot of very disappointed knitters ended up with me when they were actually looking for dishcloth patterns, or instructions on making pompoms.

I got off to a great start, thanks to all my knitting friends who ‘advertised’ my presence on their own blogs.  People I didn’t know wrote to me.  And it’s said that strangers are just people you haven’t met yet.  I got some particularly touching feedback on the story about my father’s scarf and David Reidy kindly asked me to repeat it on his Sticks & String podcast.

So thank you all for your support and comments.  Thank you for welcoming me to your world.  

3 comments

  1. ….and thanks for telling us about your world.


  2. Glad you’ve enjoyed your month in blogland. I’ve been writing a blog since January and can’t imagine life without it!

    Your blog is on my Aussie blogroll, I check it at least three times a week (along with the others) to see if ther’s anything new!


  3. I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying your Blog so far! It’s amazing how big the online knitting community is 🙂



Leave a Reply

