h1

Seven Random Facts

29 May 2007

I’ve been tagged by Kate to produce seven random facts about myself.  I’m supposed to then tag 7 other bloggers but all those I read appear to have already been tagged so I’m afraid I can’t continue the chain (never much liked chain letters anyway). 

But here they are, in no particular order:

1.     From the age of 6 to 20, I played the trombone in brass bands, orchestras and a jazz band.

2.     I have the Aboriginal (Walpiri) name of Nakamara, having lived and married in a remote Aboriginal community in the Northern Territory.

3.     At 11, I won an inter-school swimming competition because I was good at English.  I came 3rd but the first 2 hadn’t known what was meant in the rules by “placing both hands simultaneously” on the side of the pool when turning, and were disqualified.  I never was much of a swimmer.

4.     Between the ages of 11-18, I went to 5 schools (my parents moved a lot!).

5.     I once stood for election as an Independent in local elections in England to campaign against the incompetency and corruption of the incumbent.  I came 2nd but managed to stir things up a bit.

6.     At the age of 26 (and single), I lived for a year in a town of 28 single women and 800 single men.

7.     I’d known David for 23 years before I married him.  (We both married other people in the meantime).

So there they are.   7 things you didn’t know,  and perhaps don’t really want to know,  about me.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing, I enjoyed getting to know you a little better. Kate has also tagged me and I too have no-one to tag!

    Since your parents moved a lot, the story about your father’s scarf is even more poignant.

    http://www.2hot2knit.blogspot.com
    (from BM Knitters’ Group)


  2. Lovely to find out a little more about you 🙂

    I can empathise with the trombone and orchestra time – I was a violinist for most of my childhood, and played in may orchestras – the biggest love of my life.

    And very funny about winning the swimming contest because you were good at English – LOL!


  3. MANY orchestras. Man, I wish we could edit these things after pressing the deadly ‘Submit’ button…



Leave a Reply

