h1

Demanding Or What?

8 July 2007

Every evening we’re at home, I sit next to David on the sofa and knit. I usually have 4 or 5 items on the go at once – maybe 2 or 3 items as gifts and something for myself. He doesn’t really show much interest in what I’m knitting unless I nudge him to show him, or poke him in the ribs with a needle.

Two years ago, after we’d been married for 3 years, he asked me to knit him a jumper, the first thing I’d knitted for him and because he isn’t your average man (he’s a graphic designer and a bit ‘arty’) it was really fun to knit. He chose the colours – 7 of them – and I designed the sweater. No grey or black for David.

But he announced last night that he now wants a scarf, he found the yarn in my stash and has today produced this pattern for me.

So tonight all knitting will have to be put aside so I can produce this as quickly as possible. Apart from the colour changes it will be rather boring knitting but it may keep him happy for another two years or so.

PS:   And this is my first post done through Flikr, so please bear with me while I get the hang of it!

6 comments

  1. Garter stitch? Or stocking stitch? I know, why don’t you knit it in stocking stitch in double thickness (ie a tube with a slipped stitch on each side so that it’ll lie flat? Two metres of that should send you round the ned nicely. 🙂


  2. That’s ’round the *bend*’… ::le sigh::


  3. The design reminds me of a Doppler effect – or maybe a ‘red shift’ in different colours. Anyway, I like it and am looking forward to seeing how you construct it.


  4. Oooh, I like the design (I’m a graphic designer too!)… this design could work well with the Yarn Harlot’s One Row Scarf pattern (which is reversible).


  5. Oo! I like the design very much – can’t wait to see the finished product!


  6. Does it matter what colour scarf you strangle him with…?



Leave a Reply

