h1

Happy Birthday, Judith

27 July 2007

Today is my sister’s 60th birthday.  The picture was taken earlier this year when Judith won a professional photo session.

Judith 2007

Our relationship got off to a rather shaky start.  She wasn’t told that it was her 3rd birthday as my mother went into hospital that day.  A few days later, Mum returned with cries of “Happy Birthday!  Look what we’ve got for you”.  Apparently I wasn’t Judith’s birthday present of choice; she’d had her heart set on a puppy or a bicycle.  However, she’s not one to bear a grudge, my sister, and by the time I was about 30, she appeared to have forgiven me. 

And I’m so glad that she did. 

She’s really is the best sister I could have hoped for.  She’s kind, incredibly generous, and supportive.  She’s intelligent, fun (and funny) and very caring with family, friends and strangers.  She’s always been there for me and I know that I will always be able to count on her, despite the fact that we live 12,000 miles apart.

She’s had a truly dreadful year when just about everything that could go wrong in her life has managed to do so. 

So have a lovely birthday, Judith.  I’m so sorry I can’t be there.  And my most heartfelt wish is that the next year is 1000% better than the last one.  

  

8 comments

  1. Happy birthday to your sister – she looks like a gorgeous person both inside and out 🙂


  2. And happy birthday to you – what a subtle way of telling us it’s your birthday too! 🙂 Is it today or tomorrow or the next day? (ie how long was your mother in labour?)


  3. I don’t do “subtle”, M-H. Watch this blog!


  4. Happy Birthday to Judith – I’m a younger sister too so I know all about how important older sisters are. May the years get better and better.


  5. Thank you, Sally, and all of you for your good wishes. I have a pretty special younger sister (whose birthday is the 29th, by the way). However, I did retaliate for having missed out on the bicycle. When we were about 7 and 10 respectively, our mother queuesd all night to buy her a tricycle with a little cart at the back in a toy sale. I, about 6 inches taller and a stone heavier (don’t do metric), sat in the cart and instructed her to pedal me wherever I wanted to go. For some reason – she did!


  6. Happy Birthday Judith. How gorgeous you look! Wishing you a wonderful and progressive year ahead.

    In case I miss your Birthday Sally – many happy returns. Big birthday bash this weekend?


  7. Happy Birthday Judith! I hope you have a wonderful day, and celebrate for at least a week 🙂


  8. Happy Birthday to YOU! (I was sent here by Celia!)



Leave a Reply

