h1

Our Friend

9 December 2007

Last year a friend of mine was very ‘down’.  Her self-esteem was shot to pieces and she told me once that she thought people were only nice to her because they were “‘polite”.

Over the last week or so, she’s had major problems to deal with.  We’ve visited her and phoned her.  The mobile phone networks of Sydney have been placed under considerable pressure as daily (and sometimes, twice daily) bulletins were passed around her friends. 

The problem is no longer.  I wouldn’t wish it on anyone but if any good has come out of this, maybe it’s that she’s learned that politeness just doesn’t enter into it. 

We care about her.  She’s our friend.

One comment

  1. I love to hear stories of the familiies of friends that are around. I had the same experience with my friends coming through for me most wonderfully when I had a bad time, which (now) is transformed into a good memory.



Leave a Reply

