h1

Sydney Easter Show

15 March 2008

The Sydney Easter Show starts on Thursday and I have to admit that in the 5 years I’ve been living here, I’ve never attended it.  But I’m definitely going this year.

So many of my knitting friends have entered items in the Knitting Competition and are currently on tenterhooks waiting for the results which they thought would be released yesterday.  David Reidy entered his Henry sweater (an Alice Starmore creation, but I can’t find a picture anywhere), which was truly fabulous,  Kris knitted a wonderful fairisle jumper knitted in the round, and I saw a picture of a simply gorgeous lace shawl that Donna made.   All worthy winners.

Unfortunately the judges at the Show appear to be stuck in a bit of a time warp and very often innovative work just doesn’t seem to get a look-in.  Apparently they haven’t upgraded their categories for years so a few knitters I know had beautiful items to enter but couldn’t find an appropriate category for them. 

Good luck to you all!   I’m looking forward  to seeing all your work on display next week (with rosettes).

One comment

  1. Don’t forget Captain Underpants! (not that I expect that he’ll win anything but I hope he makes an impression) Section 121 – Creative knitting.



Leave a Reply

