h1

My Coffee Lifestyle

6 April 2008

Yes, I’m English. 

No, I don’t drink tea.

Some people find those two statements totally incompatible, particularly for some reason Americans, who think we all swill pints of tea daily (they must have met my mother).  But I don’t even like the smell of tea..

However, I LOVE coffee.  So when I first came to Sydney, I was pleased to see there’s a coffee festival held in The Rocks each year.  I don’t drink alcohol but have accompanied David on trips to the wine-producing areas of Australia so thought it was my turn.  We could taste all sorts of coffee  from all over the world.  Heaven for me.

There was also an amazing array of domestic coffee-making machines on show, most of which left me speechless.  They cost THOUSANDS!   For the family kitchen. 

If we’d had the money to buy one without taking out a second mortgage, we’d have had to do extensive work to increase the size of our kitchen in order to accommodate it.  $8000 for a good cup of coffee each morning.  It would be cheaper to hire a taxi to go to your favourite cafe every day to fetch you a cup.  We’ve managed to survive with a machine that cost about $70 and I bought that one a few years ago as a bit of a treat.  Hardly a necessity, but a nice luxury item if you like coffee as much as I do.

I was given a leaflet the other day for a training course I could attend for about $150 to learn to make a good cup of coffee in my home.  Use their machines or take my own (although some people would have to hire a commercial vehicle to transport one of these $8000 ones, I would imagine).   

You must all by now know my hatred of the word “lifestyle”.

I think this sums it up.

 

   

7 comments

  1. Some parts of America… As you know, I don’t drink tea at all, so thought when I travelled to North Carolina I’d be in my element. Not. They all drink iced tea all the time and I had to resort to creeping to the back door of the kitchen in hotels and bribing someone to make me what was usually the most unpalatable drink you can imagine. Invariably served in a polystyrene cup.


  2. I drink coffee. Folgers, an American brand that is sold in every grocery store here. I brew it in a $30 drip pot I bought in Wal-Mart. Paid extra for it because it has a timer, and if set up the night before, it starts brewing at 6am, so by the time I get as far as the kitchen, still barely able to think, I have coffee waiting. (I am not intelligent enough before coffee, to make coffee!) I do like French Vanilla cappaccino (sp?) that’s available in convenience stores here, at about 2 zillion calories apiece.


  3. mmm… coffee…. I got addicted badly about 7 years ago when I did my first stint as a Barista. I didn’t drink any coffee in a 24 hour period, and awoke the next day with the worst hangover of my life – If I could see straight I would have been searching for morphine and pethadine and all those other hardcore opiate painkillers – I couldn’t figure it out because I hadn’t gone out the night before. My Mum saved the day by bringing me a strong cup of coffee and the thumping and the black spots disappeared. I cut back after that. The fact that I couldn’t get to sleep with a cup of coffee before I went to bed really should have been my first clue that I was over-indulging 🙂


  4. Hee hee! I’m a tea drinker though I love the smell of freshly ground coffee.

    Last year I sent WM [as a present] to the Sydney Coffee School; they have different courses. The one he did was tasting coffee from around the world and how to know it’s ‘good’ coffee. Another course is coffee art: how to make fancy decorations on the froth on top!


  5. All the worst coffee I have ever had has been in America. Most of it is drip-made, stored hot indefinitely and just awful. It’s much better in Australia, or just about anywhere in NZ. I have a rule in the US: don’t ever order coffee unless you can see the espresso machine. Here this is not an issue because there will always be an espresso machine.


  6. I do agree with M-H – was incredibly disappointed by coffee in San Francisco, even in ‘proper’ looking Italian coffee bars.

    Even worse than coffee in the UK!

    We stick with a stove-top espresso-ish maker. But love the coffee in Toby’s Estate, Chippendale; Sappho and Naggy’s on Glebe Point Rd. Toby’s estate roast their own and I’m tempted by their courses – is tat too lifestylish???


  7. Should you ever come to my place for coffee I shall make yours on the stove in the Italian steam one.

    But for mine I’ll use the automatic espresso machine. It’s paid for itself in foregone bought coffees many times over.

    Although, mine wasn’t quite thousands. But I would get one integrated if I were to build a new kitchen. I really can’t see it being much different from a microwave, I hardly ever use that thing, but the coffee maker – every single day, at least twice.



Leave a Reply

