h1

Reuniting with Friends. . . Courtesy of Friends Reunited

10 April 2008

I was reminded reading Lien’s blog today that I’ve never told you the lovely story of my experience with Friends Reunited

I went to loads of schools  –  my parents moved a lot  –  and picked up and lost friends on a yearly basis.  I can’t even remember the names of some of my ‘bestest’ friends from my school days, except for one – Suzanne.  We were at school together when I was 13 in 1963 (the same school attended by Justin Hayward that I talked about a few weeks ago), and we were inseparable.  Until my parents upped sticks again and that was the last I saw of her.

In 2001, I heard about Friends Reunited, an English website for tracking school friends.  So I joined with the specific hope of finding Sue.  But she wasn’t there.  About 6 months later, I got an email from her.  She’d just joined, found me and voila!

I was a bit nervous about meeting up with her the first time as I may not like her very much, or she may not like me.  But I loved her.  And she seemed to like me as a couple of years after I moved out to Oz, she came to stay and last year she re-married, so I went to the wedding in England. 

I’ve thought about her often this week because of my previous post about weddings.  Sue’s wedding was the last one I went to and it was wonderful.  Just how I think a wedding should be.  A service that obviously meant a lot to them, old friends and family, delightful hospitality, not a whiff of ostentation.  it was the best wedding I’ve been to for years but because Sue is so incredibly modest, I don’t think she believes me.  And she’ll probably be very embarrassed if she reads this! 

I’m so glad I found her and it was probably a risky thing to do as it could have worked out so differently.  Our lives had gone in completely different directions but she was still the same ‘bestest’ friend I had at school.  Funnily enough I received an email from her this morning so I’ll now go straight off and reply to it so we don’t lose touch for another 38 years.

 

3 comments

  1. I’m glad to hear about this! I hated school and couldn’t wait to finish. I already keep in contact with the friends I want to from school so have no real desire to find anyone else!!


  2. That’s great, Sally. I have a friend who I want to contact but I’m not sure she’ll want to talk to me – something I did – so I’m reluctant to pay to join in case it doesn’t pan out!


  3. I’ve had a good experience too – found a cousin with whom I was very close in our teen years. He lives in Sydney now and I’ve met up with him and we intend to get together again.



Leave a Reply

