h1

HOW 3

29 June 2008

I think it’s agreed that to make a Happy Old Woman, a completely random act of kindness goes a long way.  That being the case, I’m an extreme HOW at the moment!

A couple of months ago, Petunia, a friend I’ve made through our blogs and who lives in Delaware, had a mouth-watering picture of six skeins of yarn of various alpaca/merino/silk lace combinations that Knitpicks was selling as a “taster” pack.  The particular one she liked was called Wine Tasting.  6 skeins of 50g each of gorgeous wine colours. 

She loved them.  I loved them.  She said she wasn’t going to buy them because she didn’t “need” them.  I said I wasn’t going to buy them because Knitpicks won’t ship to Oz (and, if the truth be known, I don’t need them either, particularly as I have some wonderful yarn waiting to be worked on, courtesy of my friend Sue in Bristol). 

On Thursday, this parcel arrived in the post.  I cried.

Petunia's present 

As usual my photography isn’t up to much!  The colours as shown don’t look much like wine, but take my word for it.  They really are wonderful burgundies, maroons and general “winy” colours.   

I found the generosity of spirit, time and money from someone I’ve never met to be overwhelming.

She told me that she felt it would be cruel not to buy a set for me as she was buying one for herself.  She likened it to having a chocolate cake in the house and not offering it round to guests.  David’s comment on that was “You’re supposed to hand it round?”

I showed it off to the knitters in the Rubi and Lana group and they were VERY jealous!   A number of people asked how they could become your friend too.

Thank you SO much.  You made my day, my week and my month.    

2 comments

  1. Now we have to figure out what we’re going to do with them – and if you need more? I’ll be sending that book order out, so let me know! I’ll order them all together.


  2. I can vouch for their beauty (and luscious touch)! The colours look as if they’d meld into a wonderful stole or other lovely thing.



Leave a Reply

