h1

When Virtual Becomes Reality

15 September 2008

When I first started this blog, I didn’t realise that it would make me new friends.  I thought that maybe if anyone read it, I may have more acquaintances – and that’s not to be sniffed at.  But real friends? Via the internet?  I thought it unlikely and, if the truth be known, perhaps a little sad.

But I HAVE made friends – real friends. 

We’ll start with Emily, who came to me from Mary-Helen’s blog I think.  She’s English,  was living in Birmingham  and planning a 12 month trip to Sydney.  We corresponded;  I liked her.  Everyone likes her.  And we’ll all miss her dreadfully when she goes back to England at the beginning of next year (but perhaps she’d let me visit when I’m on my annual trips over there?).  She’s fun and kind and all the things that you would want in a friend.

Then there’s Petunia, who lives in Delaware.  I think Sticks and String sent her to Pompom (I know she’s very impressed that I know David Reidy!).  She’s the wonderful woman who sent me a selection of Knitpicks lace yarns because “well, it would be like having chocolate cake in the house and not sharing it”!  Who wouldn’t love that?  We’re both going to at long last install Skype so we should be able to chat occasionally. She’s on holiday this week and I’m going away for a month next week so on Saturday I decided to phone her before she went away and we spoke for the first time.  Another fun and kind woman.

And then there’s Jejune, who lives in Canberra.  I’m not sure how she got into my blog circle but I’m so glad she did.   I think we share the same values, I’ve always enjoyed our correspondence and I really wanted to meet her.  This weekend, I got my chance as we went to Canberra for the weekend for a party.  So Jejune organised lunch on Sunday with a few knitting friends in the restaurant at Old Parliament House.  I was very tired (I hadn’t quite recovered from dancing till 2 in the morning) but it was wonderful. and I wasn’t disappointed.  Another fun and kind woman.  There seems to be a pattern here. 

Apart from the sheer pleasure of making 3 terrific friends I also find it very reassuring that my judgment is so good.  No disappointments when I finally met (or in the case of Petunia, spoke to) people I’d known only in a virtual world.  I was spot on with all of them. 

Lovely people to know.

 

6 comments

  1. It was so good to meet you too!! It’s amazing where this bloggy world can take us, isn’t it.


  2. I nominated you – check out my post at http://pierretheyarnsnob.blogspot.com/2008/09/you-shouldnt-have.html for more details πŸ™‚

    PS – I think I may have provided the link that directed jejune your way originally.


  3. Oh, thanks!

    It was definitely M-H who pointed me in your direction – and you’ve been a real high-point of my time in Sydney (so far!) It would be great to see you in the UK next year, too – who knows where?


  4. You are a fun and kind woman, and we know that like attracts like.

    I hope you’ll be able to keep us updated while you are in the UK.


  5. Yup, I’m pretty sure GingerNut pointed me in your direction πŸ™‚


  6. I can’t remember how I got to your site the first time! And I surely didn’t know there would be a friend at the end of the link!

    Another case of fabulous judgment on my part – I’ve had several this last decade.



Leave a Reply

