h1

India Revisited

30 September 2008

On my way to England, I stopped for 3 days in Bombay.  I’ve spent two month-long holidays in India – one in the late 70’s and one in 2001.  It doesn’t change much and I love it.

This time was probably the first I’ve watched any Indian TV.  You can learn a lot about a country from their television. 

1.   To become a TV presenter in India you have to be about as white as I am.

2.   Even when terrorist attacks are taking place all over the country, and thousands of people are losing their homes because of flooding,  the top item on the news will be about cricket and the arrival of the Aussie team in Bombay. 

3.   The Indian TV equivalent of Big Brother is “Bigg Boss”.   I presume that they’re probably not that familiar with Orwell, but I’ve no idea why the double ‘g’.

Next stop Finland.  But I’m writing this with limited time from a public library somewhere in Buckinghamshire.   Will write again soon

4 comments

  1. I wish I could follow you on your journey – my feet are sooo itchy!

    I have finally received your birthday pressie, so you’ll have something to look forward to when you return from your amazing travels 🙂


  2. hmm… Bombay news sounds remarkable similar to Melbourne news, however, the cricket team does get trumped by AFL…

    Not sure if you have been able to keep up with blogs, but I got a fanstatic job for a textile company that kinda puts the kybosh on my planned trip up north in November. However, now that I am earning some cash I’ll be saving my pennies and will try and get a cheep flight up for a weekend, hopefully about the same time.

    Enjoy the rest of your trip 🙂


  3. Great to hear how things are going! I really want to get to India/Pakistan.


  4. Glad to hear all’s going well. I’m winning yarn like crazy! (Like I really need more!)



Leave a Reply

