h1

When I Grow Up . . . .

30 November 2008

School careers counselling left a lot to be desired when I was at school. 

When I grow up I want to be a . . . . . shop assistant/nurse/teacher/secretary and not much else on offer.  There are jobs out there that just never got a look in.  I often think for instance that I would have been good working in film continuity, as I have that sort of eye for detail.   The only “out of the box” ambition I ever nursed was when I announced to my parents that I wanted to be a “call girl”.  Apparently i thought that was the name of the person who worked backstage in the theatre knocking on dressing room doors to summon actors to the stage.  I don’t think they corrected me – it would have been too difficult to explain.

My friend, Jejune, writes word puzzles for a living which sounds a fascinating job to me, and just up my street.  She’s currently working on a commission to write “Word Searches for Dummies”, which means she’s compiling puzzles from dawn till dusk at the moment.   

She’s written a really interesting blog explaining how she actually puts a puzzle together.  I found it intriguing.  Go and have a look

She’s also carried her job into her hobby by knitting this terrific Crossword Bag too.  And it’s multi-national – one side is a British/Australian crossword layout and the other is the American design. One clever lady!  

“When I grow up, I want to be a crossword compiler and knitter”.  I don’t know what advice the careers counsellor would have offered but I wish I’d thought of that!

4 comments

  1. Not only did Sally get a bit confused about a “call girl”, at the age of about 6, having picked up a copy of the News of the World left in our parents pub one Sunday, she asked our father what a “broth-el” (pronounced as I’ve written it)was. A chef, quick as a flash he explained it was a soup kitchen for learners. (For those outside the UK, learner drivers here have to display a large “L” plate until they pass the driving test).


  2. Call girl, he he he.

    Yes, puzzle writer is a very unusual career, with no professional training, or even very many ‘how to’ books out there. It’s a real ‘pull yourself up by the bootstraps’ type thing. This book for Wiley is a massive break for me, very exciting, if I survive the whole process! 0_o


  3. In our day, we were encouraged to be librarians, too. Don’t forget the librarians. That was also considered acceptable then.


  4. Nineteen of us completed the HSC at my school in the mid-seventies. We were told to apply for teaching or nursing positions because that’s what girls did. One of our brightest, who had appeared on “It’s Academic”, wanted to be a pilot – no way were women even considered then so she became a Sydney bus driver!! Wish I knew what she was doing now!



Leave a Reply

