h1

“There’s None So Blind As Them That Cannot See”

14 December 2008

I’ve never been really sure what that means but my grandmother used to say it, and it seems appropriate today.

By the age of 6, I was wearing glasses and I then progressed to contact lens, which I’ve worn for over 40 years (very advanced technology at the time).  For the last 10 years, I’ve also had to wear reading glasses for computer/reading/knitting.  My eyesight is dreadful. (For those interested in these things, it’s -9.5 in one eye and -11 in the other) 

In September I went for my usual eye-test; once again my eye-sight had deteriorated and I got a new pair of lens.  Wonderful!  Not only was everything so clear again, but I’d got my night vision back. 

But about 2 weeks ago, I noticed that everything was NOT so clear.  I had problems reading shop and street signs, and a few nights ago had to wear my reading glasses to read sub-titles on the TV screen.  I was VERY worried.  I couldn’t believe that it could have got so much worse in only 3 months. 

The other night, I fell asleep telling myself that I MUST make an appointment the next day with my optician, though I was quite frightened about what she might find.  Then I had a flash of inspiration.

The next morning, I found that if I put the LEFT contact lens in the LEFT eye, and the RIGHT contact lens in the RIGHT eye – and not the other way round as I’d apparently been wearing them for the last two weeks – my eyesight was restored to perfection. 

So it wasn’t my eyesight that had degenerated; it was my brain cells.   

11 comments

  1. That’s really funny ! Mostly because it’s the sort of thing I do !


  2. Cheap to fix!!!


  3. I love a creative solution 😉


  4. Hi – read your post with interest and I wondered, with regard to your reading glasses, if you’re able to wear the non prescription kind over your contacts? I realise that -9.5 in one eye and -11 in the other is very strong but your eyes would now at least be balanced.

    Kind regards, Daniel.
    google: daniel cullen


  5. Ha ha ha ha ha. Ha ha ha. Great story. Still smiling. Ha ha.


  6. I had a laugh too…but in memory of the time when I did this very same thing which was actually not so long ago.

    P.S. I enjoyed the knitting yesterday but still didn’t get to catch up with you!


  7. I do it all the time. I don’t think it has much to do with age =)


  8. Laugh! Nearly split my sides!
    That’s why I stick to spectacles – reduces the Doh! factor.
    (Sorry my beer spilt on your knitting yesterday – blame it on the wind?)


  9. To Daniel – Yes, you can just buy a pair of non-prescription glasses to wear over contact lenses. In my case, a regular pair of +2 strength does the job perfectly.


  10. You divvy.

    I am sniggering away to myself. I’ve only ever put them in inside out (soft ones, obviously!)


  11. Thanks for giving us all a chuckle at your expense! What a wonderful writer you are.



Leave a Reply

