h1

‘Twas The Night Before Christmas

24 December 2008

I’ve decked the halls (Well, the Christmas tree is up but the lights don’t work, as one of the bulbs has blown.  Can’t find replacements in Sydney)

I’ve stuffed the turkey (Actually I’ve checked that we have enough prawns for Christmas dinner, probably served with salad or as a curry)

I’ve stirred the pudding (No, not really.  A friend, who was once head of the kitchens for the biggest women’s magazine in Australia, made me a pudding as a Christmas present.  I just have to re-heat it)

I’ve wrapped the presents (One present, that is.  In the run up to Christmas I only have David to buy for.  And the shopping centres here provide gift wrapping for $1 a parcel, as a donation to charity.  So I took advantage of that for the other 2 gifts I’ve bought him.  Presents for all my family in England are left there when I visit in September).   

So we’re all set then.  Breakfast with neighbours, open our presents (we’ve got packages from England as well as our gifts to each other) and probably potter around, until 3pm when David has to go out for nearly 5 hours.  He’s a presenter on a classical music station and he’s rostered for Christmas Day.  Then dinner when he gets back.  And I’m cooking!  A rare occurrence in our household.

So the news for those of you in colder climates:  No, we don’t go to the beach.  No, we don’t eat turkey.  And no, it won’t be boiling hot.  The forecast is for fine, sunny and 25C (about 77F).    

I hope you all have a lovely Christmas.  I’m going to.

4 comments

  1. Perhaps you could use some of David’s 5 hours absence to have a lie down…? Have a great Christmas. XXX


  2. Merry Christmas! Did you get your card?


  3. Merry Christmas! Hope you had a good one…it sounds so organised! I’m jealous of your pudding!


  4. For the first time in 50 years, we had chicken not turkey for Christmas lunch! And my sister, a single parent of three aged 13, 16 and 18, bought the chicken and vegetables from a fast food outlet because she was too busy to cook. Last year my SIL bought a cooked turkey from “the most beautiful store in the world”. My how times have changed; I wonder what my 80 year old father really thought?

    Hope you had a good Christmas.



Leave a Reply

