h1

And It’s Out With The Old

31 December 2008

So it’s New Years Eve 2008.  And I live in the city that celebrates this BIG TIME.  Sydney has become known as THE city to come to if you want to see the New Year in with a very big bang.  About 1.5 million people gather around the harbour on New Years Eve.

So what are we doing?  Driving a couple of hours up the coast out of Sydney to spend the night with friends.  We’ll still see some of the fireworks from their balcony (and of course there’s the television).  I did one year struggle through the crowds and sit out on the harbour for 3 hours waiting for the fireworks but I don’t think I’ll do it again.  Stunning they may have been but it’s a big party time and, as much as I like a party, I don’t drink and I got a bit bored.  (And I can always look at the picture at the top of my blog)

I’ve noticed this year that everywhere I go, and on television, people are wishing me a “Happy and Safe New Year”.  A few people have wished us a “Safe Christmas”.  Has this time of year become particularly unsafe?  Is it any safer or more unsafe than it’s been in the past?    Is this new, or is it that I’ve only just noticed it?

Anyway, wherever my friends are in the world (including those who chose to spend it in that other big New Years Eve party city – Edinburgh), I hope you all have a very Happy New Year.

And STAY SAFE. 

  

Technorati Tags:

4 comments

  1. We’ve found the cable for the telly, so I shall see the fireworks on there (much less hassle!)


  2. We were at Circular Quay for the family fireworks in 1994; they were great but my sister’s baby screamed all the way through it and the crowds were awful! We were apparently the last ones to get onto Circular Quay station for quite some time too! Perhaps it was the screaming baby in the stroller or perhaps they recognised my WM as a co-worker [although he’s never worked in the city!]

    It’s not the same on TV but it’s a heck of a lot easier; and no-one took me seriously when I asked for a harbourside hotel room on NYE for a Christmas present!!

    Of course I want you to “stay safe” – you weren’t planning anything too adventurous were you – like abseiling upside-down from the balcony while singing Auld Lang Syne in Gaelic? LOL


  3. I always think the ‘stay safe’ wish was a reference to the Christmas road tolls (as in accident tolls, not toll roads).

    Although maybe it’s just faddish to say ‘stay safe’ this year.


  4. Well, I saw the new year in with Reg in Edinburgh and I didn’t get cold, wet or crushed. We looked out of the window of his 13th floor flat at the lovely fireworks and, watching the ships in the Firth of Forth, heard their hooters at midnight. How safe was that!!!?



Leave a Reply

