h1

I’m Not Well

11 March 2009

I haven’t been to see a doctor because I’ve been able to do a bit of self-diagnosis using all these wonderful internet sites we have access to nowadays.

Well, I consulted Ravelry. And I would appear to be suffering from “castonitis”. 

I have this dreadful urge to keep casting things on.  I’m suffocating under a mound of unfinished knitting. 

Currently, I have:

1.   A cardigan about 90% finished.  If I like it, I MAY enter it into the Sydney Easter Show competition this year.  Garments have to be submitted by 28th March.

2.  A hat about 75% finished.  This is for the Australian Knitters Colour Swap I’m taking part in.  So if your favourite colour is purple (and you’re part of the swap) this may be for you.  I’ve never entered a swap before and I’ve no idea why I’m doing this one as I have so many other things on my plate at the moment.  But everything else is ready to go, so I just have to finish the hat.  Must be completed by 23rd March.

3.  A Baby Surprise Jacket – needs to be sewn up, a collar knitted and buttons sewn on.  No finishing date but would be a good idea if it were presented to the baby in advance of her High School Formal.

4.  A hat for the Winterwarm Project – about 50% knitted.  I knit these all the time on the train journeys to work so I’m not too worried about this.  As long as I have a few items to donate in September, I’ll be OK.

5.  A Swallowtail Shawl, knitted with the Knitpicks lace that Petunia sent me from America.  Only about 5% done.  No  deadline for this one as it’s for me.

6.  A lace scarf – about one third completed – knitted with Rowan Kid Silk Haze.  I dropped a stitch about 4 weeks ago, put it away carefully, and haven’t looked at it since. 

7.  A short-sleeved wool jumper, own design – completely finished but needs to be sewn up. It’s probably a bit too warm to wear it at the moment so it’s gone to the bottom of my “to-do” list.

I think I could cure myself if I really tried.  So I’m giving myself until the end of March, when I promise myself that everything on this list will be completed. 

I had malaria many years ago – it recurs for the rest of your life, I believe.   I’ve certainly suffered from it on and off for the last 30 years but the intensity diminishes greatly each time I’m ill.  Maybe castonitis is like that.  Once you’ve been exposed to it, it’s with you for ever but it won’t be as bad as it is now.

 

3 comments

  1. it’s going around. i think it’s the end of summer that’s caused it. you know, that whole change in seasons thing?


  2. Oh dear, I’ve been wondering what’s been wrong with me, and now I know. Thank you Dr PomPom.


  3. Oh yes, the desire to cast on is often incredibly strong! I was once a monogamous knitter just like my mum [she still is] but ignoring new patterns, yarns and techniques is sometimes just too hard!



Leave a Reply

