h1

The Last Word

16 April 2009

As much as I’ve enjoyed a number of you having learned discussions about the teaching of religion in schools, it’s obvious from your comments that I’m never going to be able to explain my position on the subject in a way that will be easily understood.

Far more erudite people than I have written about atheism.  Bertrand Russell’s “Why I’m Not A Christian” (now available online), an essay written in 1927, is a great starting point.  He was one of the foremost philosophers of his time but this is written in a very simple and logical fashion.   And then take a big jump to Richard Dawkins “The God Delusion” written in 2006.

I’m not offended by people who’ve disagreed with me but I don’t intend to dissect my atheism or justify it on my blog.  So I’m going to return to less weighty subjects.  And, for the first time since I’ve been writing here, I’m not allowing comments on this post.  I think I’m entitled to the last word.

Tomorrow, I think I’ll return to a bit of knitting. 

