h1

Could Mozart Crochet?

18 May 2009

Thank you to all those who responded to my request for modern crochet patterns.  I’m having fun looking around at ideas and have nearly finished a very simple little baby jacket which has shown that at least I haven’t forgotten how to increase/decrease etc.  I’ll put up a picture when I’ve finished (though it’s not really much to look at).

I was a bit confused this morning about one comment I got.  “Get David to talk about crochet a bit”. 

Well, my husband presents a classical music radio programme and I wasn’t sure why anyone would think that talking about crocheting would be appropriate.  And frankly my cat probably knows more about the subject than my husband.

Then it dawned on me (well, it was VERY early and I hadn’t even had a cup of coffee).  Wrong David. 

For the last few weeks, I’ve been talking about knitting at the Sydney Royal Easter Show over on David Reidy’s podcast “Sticks and String“.  I’ve just listened to the latest one (Show 103) and he does mention that if any of his listeners read my blog,  they may be confused by all the references to David.  I’m generally talking about ‘David, the Husband’  not ‘David, the Knitter’ (though DTK does get the occasional mention).

I’ll certainly pass on your request to the right David and will let you know what he says. 

In the meantime, many thanks everyone for all your help and ideas.

9 comments

  1. There’s some crochet coming up in show 105, not a lot, just a bit. You have prescient blog readers. 🙂 DTK.


  2. Made me laugh!

    BTW, am now on SKYPE!!!!!!!!


  3. I have enjoyed very much listening to you on David The Knitter’s podcast the past few weeks. Looking forward to more!


  4. Here’s the story of a gal called Sally
    Who was busy with a blog of her own
    Knew two guys both named David
    One she had taken for her own!
    Till one day some readers confused the issue
    Thought that D.O. and D.R. were just the same
    It’s confusing and bemusing
    When husband and friend have the same first name!


  5. Confusing names of spouse and friend reminded me:
    My son’s ex- is Lori. His wife is Lorri. Doesn’t matter what he mumbles in his sleep, I guess.


  6. I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to you on David Reidy’s pod cast, you describe things so well it brings it to life!


  7. You don’t know everything… On Britain’s Got Talent last Saturday, one act was called Floral Highnote (I misheard it the first time and thought they were called Oral Hygiene, but that’s another story).

    There was an opera singer belting out a beautiful aria while her partner created a floral arrangement beside her. If one can have classical music and flower arranging, why not classical music and crochet?


    • Maybe . . . but on the radio it wouldn’t quite have the same effect!


  8. David the Knitter did say on his podcast that there was also a David the Husband! I’m just popping in to say that I love your commentary on the Easter Show. Very humorous.



Leave a Reply

