h1

Rip it, Rip it!

8 June 2009

May was a dreadful month for knitting, which is why I haven’t shown you any.

I finished my Noro Kureyon cardigan, which looked like this at the end of April:

100_0215

I really like . . . . the buttons!

 Noro Button

And that’s it. 

It knitted like straw, was a bit softer after washing but looks dreadful.  The drape’s all wrong and it hangs badly. I’ve worn it twice and won’t wear it again.  I’ll get round to removing the buttons and ripping the whole thing out so I can use the Noro for something else.  I’ve only knitted with it once before and it made a good hat last winter. 

 Bias Ridged Hat

So I’ll turn it into hats and bags maybe – I believe it felts really well.

Have others had problems with this yarn or is it just my knitting?

9 comments

  1. I’d like a bag, thank you.


  2. I do know that ripping out Noro might be a bit of challenge. Likely to break and break and break. Especially as you have washed it. Funny old wool Noro. LOVE the colours. LOVE them, but as far as a knitted fabric goes, you’ve just discovered why it is imperative to get it right first time. Too bad it doesn’t look good on. It looks lovely off. Can you find someone to fit it? I know. I know. It is soooo expensive. You could felt it up on purpose and stretch it to your desired shape. Or felt it up and make a cushion cover out it. Enough. I’m outta here.


  3. I have a noro jumper that grew and grew and grew. I’m planning on pulling it out and making a much more fitting cardi with it – something with a lot of ribbing in it. I’ve washed it several times, though, so I’m not sure how the ripping will go. I think that noro functions best in very structured, firm fabrics.


  4. I’ve never knitted with it – I think the sock yarn, though very pretty, is way too harsh!


  5. I think Noro is best in accessories. I love the colour combinations, but think they work well in smallish doses. Most of the things you’ve knitted that look wonderful on you are quite drapey, so maybe you’re also just not comfortable with the solidity of shape that the Noro produces.

    The Kureyon (which is 100% wool) felts really well – was my only felting experience ever and I was very happy with it.

    And the buttons are wonderful


  6. It looks great in the photo – maybe you could print it in life size and … silly idea. My Blossom cardi stretched like nobody’s business, all over, but especially in the long ribbed section under the bust. So when I knitted a second for my daughter I used knitting in elastic in the ribbing – then did my usual “if a bit’s good, more must be better” thing, and used it right through the cardi. Ha!! So M-H if you’re going to do a lot of ribbing I’d suggest the knitting -in elastic – but only in the rib.
    The buttons are wonderful – where from?


  7. I’ve only knitted with Noro Kureyon once for a project to be felted. I didn’t find it all that easy to felt and have sworn off ever using it again.


  8. I just love the colours in the Noro yarns, especially the sock wool. However, I made DIL a hat from Silk Garden and was decidedly unimpressed with the yarn. Colours were just right for her but the yarn was dreadful. Several knots in both of the two balls. At the then $35/ball, that is just not good enough. I realise that texture is part of its supposed appeal, but this ranged from chunky to about the same thickness of a hair. Needless to say, these particular bits snapped on knitting and caused more joins, although I did not use knots as manufacturers had done. The yarn made my fingers ache badly, something I usually have only if I overdo the knitting or use a*****c for toys.

    I supposedly had plenty of yarn for pattern. However I needed more to do the band. I bought a toning ball of Jet which was a great pleasure to use after the Noro.

    I would use Jet again for the pattern, even if it meant sacrificing the lovely colours. For $70 plus the Jet, I received frustration, knots and sore fingers.

    Never again, no matter how much I’m tempted and I won’t even think about the sock wool.


  9. I can’t often afford Noro yarns, but I have a scarf out of Kureyon, and I crocheted a bunch of flowers for my wedding guests to wear a few years ago. I *love* the Kureyon with a white hot passion, and while I did find some twigs and etc, once I washed it, it became wonderfully soft and squashy.



Leave a Reply

