h1

Me (And My Head) Are Still Here

23 November 2009

Pressure of work after a month’s holiday PLUS a downgrade of my internet connection to dial-up while we change ISP’s has kept me away from my blog.

I promise (threaten?) I’ll return with a vengeance when both problems are sorted.

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with a bit of personal information that I’ve never shared with you all before. My mother tells me that a recent episode of Doc Martin not yet shown in Oz (it’s a British drama also shown on Aussie television) touched on the subject of a disorder from which I suffer.

I’ve never heard mention of it before and I don’t normally go around talking about it for fear that people will think I’m mad (including some doctors I’ve spoken to).

Yes, I suffer from Exploding Head Syndrome. And yet, it’s a real disorder. The neurologist knew immediately what was wrong with me (as apparently did Doc Martin when faced with the same symptoms).

And before you laugh, do consider what the effect on someone (ie ME) is to feel and hear that you’ve been shot in the head as you drift off to sleep. There are peiods of weeks when nothing happens, then it comes back regularly and I dread going to bed. But apparently nobody really knows what causes it, no harm is done to me and my head is still sitting on top of my shoulders.

6 comments

  1. When I stopped taking anti-depressants, I sufferred from what they call ‘brain shivers’ – hard to explain but very nasty. This sounds much worse – and I absolutely feel for you!


  2. You poor thing – I used to have a recurring, terrible nightmare when I was young and I understand how you must dread going to bed when your symptoms are active.


  3. Interesting article. I’ve never heard of it before but that is hardly surprising! I sympathise with you and hope the current episodes disappear soon for a very long time!


  4. Such a terrible thing; I was unaware of this disorder – mine is the chronic inability to key down and fall asleep. It now seems minor and insignificant when compared to this.


  5. Sounds horrible.

    I’ve missed you, but am not really fit for human consumption at the moment. Hoping things will perk up after next week.

    xoxoxo


  6. I just discovered Doc Martin on Netflix, an online video service, and just love it. We have only watched four episodes so far and are hooked.
    My sympathies on the head syndrome. I am sure it must be quite disturbing.



Leave a Reply

