h1

Take That, You Cad!

14 December 2009

I didn’t sleep very well last night.  At about 3 a.m. I was awoken by my husband hitting me.

David?  Using violence?  I assure you all that this is a first.

I told him to stop, he woke up and knew exactly what he’d done.  Apparently in his dream, there were 10 burglars. dressed in suits, sitting in our house drinking tea.  How he knew they were burglars I’ve no idea as they sounded to me more like a contingent from the Church of the Latter Day Saints.  Anyway, he KNEW they were burglars and tried to hit one but kept missing.  He missed the burglar but he managed to hit me in the arm about three times.   

I suppose I should just be grateful he didn’t try to strangle one of them.

3 comments

  1. OMG! We saw a doco on SBS about this last week – it’s not an uncommon phenomenon. Apparently there’s a part of the brain that paralyses our muscles while we are dreaming, so that we don’t act out what we are ‘seeing’ in our head. As we age (yes, that again!) it sometimes doesn’t work as well, and people who are having nightmares will lash out, as you describe. Let’s hope it was a one-off!


  2. One peaceful night, tired after a day’s travelling I was rudely awoken by Ernst’s violent gymnastics (not that sort…..!) and a resounding THUD on the floor.
    Fumbled for the light and discovered a completely dazed and confused bloke wondering WHY he is on the floor!

    Turned out he dreamt he was arguing with an ex-partner (the business sort) and had lashed out.

    What really worried me was the thought that it was about 3 am, we were in strange territory, no idea where the nearest hospital might be, and he had missed hitting his head on a sharp edge, by the proverbial whisker.


  3. http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/wales/8370237.stm

    Here is a recent case where a man did kill his wife while dreaming that she was an intruder, as he had a sleep disorder.



Leave a Reply

