h1

UOTO Secret Business

5 March 2010

I’m afraid this will only be comprehensible to members of the UOTO group.  To the rest of you, I apologise.  Normal service will be resumed as soon as possible.

What is a Circus?

Well, first of all, of course, you’ve got to have clowns.  Lots of them.  Some tragic, some funny.

Performing animals, perhaps?  Jumping through hoops?  And then you’d need a lion tamer.

My personal favourite – People who are able to walk a very fine tightrope.

And most certainly a Ringmaster – an imposing, though sometimes buffoonish, figure to strut around the arena. 

Yes, for one day only, the Circus is in town.  Look forward to seeing you all there.

 

 

8 comments

  1. I wonder if it will be a full Three-ring number? I can’t wait!


  2. Oh dear, my tutu is at the cleaners.

    Never mind, I’ll turn up anyway, there should be enough freaks to keep things entertaining. Joy!


  3. And will there be “magic” tricks?


  4. I believe there’s a woman who makes nominations vanish into thin air….


  5. Unfortunately, I am not able to make it. My mum is staying with me (until tomorrow) and we are going to visit my brother today (he, like most, works on weekdays).

    Hope it is not too traumatic, especially for the new “ringmaster”.


  6. curiouser and curiouser – bring on the clowns


  7. I love the “magic tricks” comment – I think that there have been a lot of those, so no doubt some will be attempted today. But we all know they are just sleight of hand, and sooner or later the rabbit in the hat leaves unwanted messages in its master’s/mistress’s pocket!

    Good luck today at the circus. I hope it’s fun with plenty of popcorn to throw when the audience think the clowns aren’t funny enough!

    Cheers, I’ll be thinking of you.


  8. Hey, there! Hoop-la! the circus is in town!
    Have you seen the elephant? Have you seen the clown?
    Have you seen the dappled horse gallop round the ring?
    Have you seen the acrobats on the dizzy swing?
    Have you seen the tumbling men tumble up and down?
    Hoop-la! Hoop-la! the circus is in town!

    Hey, there! Hoop-la! Here’s the circus troupe!
    Here’s the educated, dog jumping through the hoop.
    See the lady Blondin with the parasol and fan,
    The lad upon the ladder and the india-rubber man.
    See the joyful juggler and the boy who loops the loop.
    Hey! Hey! Hey! Hey! Here’s the circus troupe!

    C.J..Dennis

    Lots of scope there for magic tricks and characters.



Leave a Reply

