h1

I Caved In

11 March 2010

Knitting friends kept nagging me to get a blog.  I couldn’t see the point, didn’t have enough knitting stuff to talk about and really didn’t believe I’d have time to keep it going.

Eventually, I caved in.  And I’m so glad I did.  I love blogging and it satisfies my ranting urge!

Then along came Ravelry.  I wasn’t quite sure what the appeal was and anyway there was a 3 month waiting list.  But I was nagged by other members of my knitting circle so caved in again and put my name on the list.   Apart from the fact that Ravelry is the best online source of information about knitting, between that and my blog, I’ve made so many friends.

The “next big thing” was Twitter. A  complete waste of time, pointless exercise etc etc.

I think you can guess the rest. 

You can find me as SallyPompom!

 

4 comments

  1. My, my, my! Resistance has been futile I see! I know what you mean, even though I had a blog for a short time before you, it was ages later before I caved in and discovered the charms of Ravelry!


  2. Now you need to try Plurk… 🙂


  3. I’m really glad that you have a blog because it gives me a chance to rant.

    Today’s letting off steam is Facebook… Why is there a Facebook…? I was on it for a day then took myself off. We’ve just had yet another murder in the UK by someone who met his victim on that site. It blurs the distinction between “my” information, which I can share as I like, and “your” information, which it isn’t my right to publish.

    Now I hear that employers are looking at their workers’ Facebook pages. A woman lawyer who criticised her employer on Facebook was sacked.

    A friend went to a party at a pub, to find no-one there except him. He rang the host and eventually got hold of him. “I decided to go somewhere else”. “But you didn’t let me know”. “I did. I put it on Facebook this afternoon”. So someone who’s at work is supposed to check Facebook to see if plans for a get-together THAT EVENING have been altered.

    That’s the case for the opposition – the floor’s yours!


  4. Interesting points, Judith. I think that people haven’t quite worked out yet that Facebook goes to the whole world, and they shouldn’t put anything there that they don’t mind people people reading – any people, anywhere, any time. It’s not Facebook that’s the problem, it’s the lack of understanding of users.



Leave a Reply

