h1

Relaxing Into The Arms Of The Devil

21 March 2010

I’m not sure why I haven’t come across this before.  It came up in a conversation I had about the possibility of inviting a friend of mine, Knitdra, to hold yoga sessions at the offices of one of my clients.

Apparently, two years ago, the exorcist for the Catholic Church in England and Wales, declared that yoga for relaxation is deceptive – “an evil spirit tries to make his entry as unobtrusively as possible”.  I haven’t seen any signs of the Devil in either Knitdra or other yoga enthusiasts of my acquaintance, but, Hell, what do I know?

The two things I found interesting about this man, Father Jeremy Davies, is 1) that he’s Oxford educated and 2) that he’s an exorcist.   So a first-class education was wasted on him, then.

I’ve never really felt the urge to practise yoga but now that Father Davies has given it his seal of disapproval, it suddenly acquires a certain appeal.

I may give it a try – it sounds more fun that I imagined. 

6 comments

  1. Funnily enough, this sort of thing came up again this week in Sheffield, Yorkshire (the town of my birth). A Church of England vicar has closed down a T’ai Chi class which used to be held in the church hall. He says it’s because T’ai Chi is based on religious experience, or something like that. Then some members of the class were interviewed. Two fairly elderly women said “It’s a rum do when the church won’t let you get a bit of gentle exercise”. (You have to imagine the Yorkshire accent – it was very Alan Bennett).


  2. Wow! There was an article about this on the SMH website today – and yes, an Australian cardinal who does all them exorcism thingies was saying something similar. (It starts with Harry Potter and Twilight then moves onto Yoga and Reiki).

    http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/do-twilight-harry-potter-open-door-to-the-devil-20100320-qn74.html

    Persoanlly, I think it’s a load of bollocks.


  3. literally, god forbid you get exercise and relaxation at the same time.

    what next? marathon running leads you straight to the gates of hell….


  4. The things these blokes get themselves in a lather about. A rum do indeed.


  5. reading this I’m overcome with the desire to take up subversive yoga too…or I wonder if my Grandparents would let me crash their Tai Ch’i class


  6. I’m not sure that we should take anyone who believes celibacy is a good thing seriously!



Leave a Reply

