h1

Thank You . . .THANK YOU!

21 April 2010

This will be short – I’m propped up in bed trying to type on the tiniest keyboard.

For those not aware, 10 days ago I fell over, broke my hip in two places and have been in hospital ever since.

Complete disaster EXCEPT if you want to tell me that you’ve better friends or family than I have, I would have no hesitation in calling you a liar!

When I’m a little more capable, I’ll tell you all about the extraordinary kindness I’ve received from friends, relatives, acquaintances and complete strangers.

Thank you, all of you.

27 comments

  1. Hooray! Great to see you back online. I’m sorry I had to run last night; I didn’t fancy giving a cold to half the ward. 🙂


  2. Good to see you online, I’m so glad you’ve been well looked after by everyone – and that you are able to knit! Hope your recovery is as swift and painless as possible.


  3. Best wishes for a very speedy recovery! Enjoyed your recent discussion on Sticks and String.


  4. good to hear from you!


  5. Sally, What hospital are you in? I hope you are not in too much pain – two places – you don’t muck around, do you?
    Best wishes,
    Atholie


  6. May your recovery be filled with lots of knitting time, and as little pain as possible. I to am enjoying your and David Reidy’s banter at the Easter Show on Sticks & String. Thank you for doing this each year with him. Please do not fall over again, though, if you find the organisers making plain their judging criteria, or if you find the entered items well displayed. Then we can all enjoy well crafted items well dispalyed. (no, I am not in Australia… but I do help out at a local fair where an effort is made for both, so I know it can be done).


  7. Glad to see you back online! Will try to call you today, Squishy has been sick, and “difficult”.


  8. Hey Sally – good to see you back online. Hope the bones are “knitting” as quickly as possible! Take care. love Sue


  9. Jesus Sally – what a nightmare for you! I hope you haven’t been in too much pain and I wish you all the best for a speedy recovery.

    Very glad that you’re being looked after though, and rightly you should!


  10. All the best for a speedy recovery!


  11. Get well soon – and let me know if you need needles notions, or anything printed!


  12. May you have a complete and speedy recovery!


  13. get well soon hope your getting the fun drugs missed you wednesday


  14. Good to see you back online. I’ll just repeat my wishes for a speedy, complete recovery.


  15. I was so sorry to hear about your fall. I will keep you in my prayers. I hope you are up and around as soon as possible. I know from experience, sitting around, even if it gives you more time to knit, is no fun after a while.


  16. Hi Sally,

    Sorry to hear about the broken hip. At least you have lots of time to knit! I really enjoy hearing your reviews of the Easter Show on Sticks and String for the past several years. Its good to know that the entries are as badly displayed there as they are in our Sonoma County, California county fair. There must be a guild or something the displayers belong to. Hang in there and get better soon!


  17. So sorry to hear this while I was listening to S&S today. Very best wishes from Canada for a quick recovery.


  18. So glad you are now back in the world of cyberspace. Hope you are still mending well. I think I should keep away a little bit longer as I’m still not quite 100% after my iccky flake out type cold this week. Might be able to pop in later next week. Let me know if you decide to escape before then.

    m
    xxx


  19. Now you get to knit something entirely different. I’m sure you’ve knit cotton, linen, and all sorts of other vegetable and animal fibers. Now you get to knit bone. I know you’ll end up with a beautiful and functional Finished Object.


  20. Heard about your accident on Sticks and String, love you on the Easter Show last year and was so looking forward to this year. Sorry to hear about your hip. Hope you recover quickly.


  21. Yo, Sally, good to hear from you – hope you’ve had my best wishes passed on by Kris (of course you have!)

    Clare and I both thinking of you, and David, and hoping all’s knitting well and you’ll be home soon.

    xxx


  22. Hi Sally, was terribly dismayed to hear about your fall, glad to see that you are well enough to post and hopefully knit!


  23. oh Sally! was so distressed to hear of your hip breaking — no fun, but with your pazazz we know you will be up and walking normally as soon as you can!

    So, best wishes, but in the meantime, I am SO enjoying David R’s and your Easter show run-through episodes on his podcast — you two are a hoot together! It appears that things this year are slightly more organized in their usual pell-mell “what were they thinking” displays, but I swear they are just doing it to confound you … silk and plant fiber, over-70 categories, etc. I so enjoy your spontaneous comments about items — it really is as if your best friend is walking through with you and you both go — “oh my. WHAT is that?” You never know, it truly could be “astroturf.” LOL

    But truly, displaying for show items that “may not be washed” but hey, let’s starch them … truly amazing!

    I’ll be thinking of you and your PT — and no one will tell on you if you happen to swear a little (it is hard work)!
    Maryjo


  24. Hi Sally! Sorry to hear of your fall, but I’m glad you’re on the mend and have lots of support.

    Lety


  25. It’s taken me ages to remember to stop by and wish you well. I’m a devoted Sticks & String listener, and have been thoroughly enjoying your recent segments with David. Always so funny–I laugh out loud on the subway!

    Hope you’re healing well–take care,
    Jen


  26. Hello Sally;
    I’ve only “met” you virtually,listening to your reviews of the Easter Show on Sticks and String.” I enjoy your comments and rapport with David, and I was very sorry to hear of your fall. Hope you are mending double quick!

    Ann (in California, near San Francisco)


  27. Hi Sally, I listen to David and have enjoyed all the interviews he has had with you over time. You are wonderful to listen to and very knowledgeable. I was sadden to hear of your fall. Not good. I send you good wishes that your recovery will be quick. Can’t wait to hear you’re up and bouncing about again.

    Keep knitting,
    Candy



Leave a Reply

