h1

Guilt-Free Knitting

2 May 2010

After friends have expressed concern for me in my sorry state at the moment,  they try to cheer me up by reminding me of all the knitting I’ll be able to do – guilt free, as I can’t do much else. 

When I was taken into hospital, I had (of course) a small project in my handbag that I’d been knitting on my train journeys to and from work so there I was, propped up in bed, in a morphine-induced state waiting to go to theatre, knitting away.  It fascinated the nursing staff and it kept me relatively sane.  The knitting of course was dreadful and will have to be ripped. 

Then friends arrived with yarn and patterns to keep me occupied.  One friend turned up with a simple shawl pattern, a beautiful ball of yarn, the needles, stitch markers and a tape measure.  Everything I needed to keep me occupied for a while.  Other patients and their visitors would pop over every day to see how I was getting along.  Knitting is such a USEFUL hobby – therapeutic, relaxing,  transportable. 

Now that I’m at home, I knit a bit each day but find it difficult to concentrate on one activity for any length of time.  So I sit at the computer and catch up with my friends and the rest of the world, I read a bit, I knit a bit, I sleep a lot.  I’ve been given some audio books, which go well with the knitting, and I try not to watch daytime TV. 

I can get out of bed by myself now and can get myself around the house.  I can make myself a hot drink but have to stand in the kitchen to drink it as, with crutches, it’s impossible to carry anything.  I can’t cook but as my sister (kindly) pointed out yesterday, I couldn’t cook before the accident so why would I think a bone fracture would make me into Masterchef?

Each day is a little better than the day before.  And by the time I’m up and whizzing around Sydney at my usual pace, I hope to have loads of knitting to show off. 

5 comments

  1. Glad to hear that you are on the mend. I always enjoy it when you are on the Sticks and String podcast. Wishing you all the best, and happy peaceful knitting — Anne in Louisiana


  2. Wonderful to hear that your doing so well Sally 🙂
    If there’s two things that save your sanity whilst not being 100% it’s our knitting and ravelry. It makes life that little bit bearable when we have not much control about other things going on in our lives.
    You may be a little bruised at the moment but you have not lost your sense of humor 😀
    xo


  3. What a circle of wonderful friends you have.

    Glad to hear you are improving day by day.


  4. Great to hear you are home and feeling better.I know what it is like to not be able to concentrate on anyone thing to long. Enjoy you audio books and keep on knitting


  5. Hi Sally:
    I listen to David Reidy’s podcast and was sorry to hear about your injury. Glad to hear that you are home and on the mend. Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
    P.S. I live in a small town in Michigan; greetings from small-town America!



Leave a Reply

