h1

A Day In The Life Of …

6 May 2010

Hobbling Pompom!

I’m still on crutches and likely to be so for another 3-4 weeks, then maybe I’ll be using walking sticks.  This is SO limiting.  All those things that you promise yourself you’ll get done if you’re at home with little to do are totally out of my reach – literally, for a lot of them.  If I drop something on the floor, for instance, it stays there until someone (read “David”) comes along to pick it up. 

I can get out of bed by myself and use the bathroom (but not shower or bathe).  I can now get dressed if the clothes are suitable (elasticated waists etc), I can make myself a hot drink but can’t carry it anywhere, I can sit at my computer, I can sit at the dining table and I can sit on the ghastly pink vinyl chair we’ve hired for the occasion in the sitting room.  I can type, knit, read, watch television and listen to talking books and the radio.  And that’s my day.

Most days I have a visitor which is wonderful.  I’ve had one trip out of the house, to my GP, and today I’m going to a physiotherapist.  A couple of times a day I walk up and down outside for ten minutes or so. 

But there’s loads to be grateful for – it’s just that I can’t always see things that way! 

I’m improving every day.  I’m not in great pain, just uncomfortable sometimes, and am reducing the painkillers. That has the added benefit that my brain isn’t quite so befuddled most of the time!  I’ve started to really enjoy knitting again (I started a baby cardigan this week, and within 24 hours had completed back and both fronts – and I finished a shawl I started in hospital). 

I’ve got a great circle of friends so there’s always someone at the end of a phone line if I fancy a chat.

And I’ve got a wonderful nurse.  Better than Florence Nightingale as I doubt whether she was as good a cook as David.  I don’t know how I’m ever going to repay him for the incredible way he’s dealt with all this but I’ve promised to treat us both to a few days away somewhere before I head back to work. 

So life’s not that bad and I’m well aware it could be so much worse.  How do people get through times like this without the incredible family and friends I have?

7 comments

  1. Great to hear you’re on the mend, albeit slowly! I’m guessing we’ll miss you at the Guild on Saturday?


  2. Three cheers for David! A few days away would be a wonderful treat for both of you.


  3. Wonderful to hear that you are on the mend and getting more mobile. And yes – it could be a lot worse! Good to be able to see the positives.


  4. He does it cos he loves you!:) I am glad you are on the mend, but it does take time. Go slowly and enjoy all the completed projects!


  5. I just wanted to tell you how much I enjoy listening to you and David on the Easter Shows each year. I love the rapport you two have.
    Also, sorry to hear of your accident and hope you are recovering nicely.


  6. Just wanted to send along good wishes for a speedy recovery. I’ve enjoyed so much hearing you and David Reidy do the Easter show reviews. LOVE them even if I can’t immediately SEE all the displays as you describe them. I agree with Gail that it is the rapport that makes it so nice and your sense of humor comes across as well. Take care and be as patient as possible. I’m sure that is the hardest part.


  7. Hello Sally. I look forward to hearing your Easter Show reports each year. I don’t know how you and other knitters don’t stage a coup against the judges. If only for the way they hang and strangle those works of art. (grin) Best wishes and hopes for your complete recovery.



Leave a Reply

