h1

The Kindness Of Strangers

16 May 2010

When I first wrote about my accident, 10 days after it happened, trying to type on a tiny keyboard from my hospital bed, I mentioned the extraordinary kindnesses I’d received. 

Strangely, when people hear that the accident happened in the street, and I was by myself at the time, so many of them automatically assume that nobody came to my help.  Which is so far from the truth.

Because of the state I was in at the time, I’m not exactly sure how many people helped me – at least 5 – but help me, they certainly did.  Apart from calling an ambulance, one man held my leg in the air for about 15 minutes because having it flat on the pavement was excruciatingly painful.  One woman phoned the office for me.  One shopkeeper came out with 3 or 4 cushions to help make me a little more comfortable (and they ended up in hospital with me.  I did eventually ask someone to return them to him about 5 days later).  And to get me onto the trolley to go into the ambulance involved some sort of hammock affair, which these complete strangers helped to carry – it needed about 8 people.   My handbag came into the ambulance with me with all its contents intact – credit cards, cash, mobile phone etc. 

I have no idea who these people are – and probably will never know – but it confirms what I’ve always thought. 

Most people will do good if the opportunity arises. 

3 comments

  1. I’d say “Amen” to that!


  2. Truer words never spoken Sally. There is so much good in most people.


  3. Every week when Sticks & String comes along, I remember to check how you are doing. It has been so amazing to listen to the recordings of the Easter show, before the accident, and know you are safely recovering now.
    As you are using crutches, you do not sound nearly as tottery as I was imagining. (And I’m pleased about that!)

    And those people that helped? They were glad to be able to help.



Leave a Reply

