h1

Forward Planning

5 October 2010

And on the subject of having loads of yarn and deciding what to do with it, I gave a few thoughts to whether to enter Sydney’s Easter Show next year.

On the one hand, it’s a display of beautifully knitted garments, most of them reminiscent of the 50s or 60s, including the manner in which they’re displayed.  On the other, can we really complain if we don’t enter?  (And, on yet another hand (!) can I go round and do a critique for Sticks and String if I’ve got an entry?) 

The Knitters’ Guild of NSW, you’ll be pleased to hear, has had long conversations recently with the Arts Committee of the Show and these have resulted in getting some new categories, although I’m not exactly sure what the Committee accepted and what they rejected.  I hope they’ve included Accessories as currently there’s no place for socks, hats, scarves, handbags and gloves except in the Creative Design section.  I’m hoping they went with the idea of “mixed media” – for example, crochet and knitting combined in the one garment. 

AND we are assured there’ll be a much improved display style, which I hope will dispose of the need for fishing wire and hooks.   

So I suppose I’ll put the decision on hold until the categories are published in November.  I think I know what I want to make; I just have to ensure there’s a category to enter it into.  And I’ll put some of that growing stash aside, just in case.

Leave a Reply

