h1

Doing My Bit

9 October 2010

With the Australian dollar practically at the same level as the US one, it would be a bit churlish of me not to help my friends in the USA and their ailing economy.

So I’ve just done my bit!

I had some “birthday money” from my mother which I haven’t spent so it’s now winging its way to Schoolhouse Press so that I can at long last own the whole set (4 books) of Barbara Walker’s Treasury.  For those of you who aren’t knitters (yes, I know there are some out there) these are the definitive works on knitting stitches. 

I mainly design my own items and had an interesting conversation about this the other week.  I think only once in the last ten years have I knitted a cardigan or sweater for me from a pattern as written and I said that it felt like “cheating”.  I’m not sure that’s quite the right word but I get as much pleasure from the idea and the logistics of putting it together as I do from the knitting.  Even as a teenager I could never knit what the pattern said.  I always wanted to change the sleeve length, add a different kind of collar, do it in a different stitch etc.  I’ve only fairly recently started to knit lace shawls and followed patterns studiously but now I’ve got a bit more confidence, I’m enjoying designing those as well.

And when these books arrive, I’ll have practically every stitch known to knitter.  Should get my mojo working!

2 comments

  1. Those are lovely books. I’ve almost got all my knitting books out (and keep finding more yarn tucked into boxes and bags…). It’s lovely to have a place for it all.


  2. I’ve been collecting old knitting patterns – Vogue, etc, from the 30s to 80s. Some of them are just so elegant!



Leave a Reply

