h1

You Said What??

20 October 2010

I was stopped in the street today by a journalist and photographer from the Daily Telegraph, who wanted my opinion on Julia Gillard’s announcement yesterday that Australia would probably be in Afghanistan for the next 10 years.  They have a ‘vox pop’ section everyday and it was for inclusion in that. 

They duly wrote down what I said and took my photograph (about 15 photographs actually!).

So I’ll wait until tomorrow and see what it’s been turned in to.  The last time this happened to me, about 15 years ago in England, what was printed bore no relationship to what I’d said, or my views in general.  I had so many calls from friends saying “I can’t believe you said that!”

So if it’s there tomorrow and your immediate reaction is “Surely Sally didn’t say that” then it’s likely that I didn’t.

I’ll report back tomorrow. 

3 comments

  1. Vox pom, surely?


  2. Given the fine journalistic standards of that paper, I am sure that your comments will be duly reported verbatim! Unless you used long words….



Leave a Reply

