h1

Did It Work?

30 October 2010

Last night I was approached by a man, outside Central Station, who handed me a leaflet.  I glanced at it, noticed that it was asking me to accept Jesus as my saviour and handed it back, quite politely, explaining that I wasn’t interested as I’m an atheist.

He asked me if I believed that God could answer my prayers.  I wondered which particular part of “I AM AN ATHEIST” he wasn’t able to understand. 

Noticing my walking stick, he then said he’d pray for an immediate cure of whatever ailed me and proceeded to do so.  I suppose I should have just walked away but I was trying to be polite and I was intrigued. He finished his short prayer and told me that I would be cured.

And you’ll never guess what happened when I woke up this morning?

Yep, you’re right.  Absolutely nothing.  Still limping – still very uncomfortable – still a bit painful if I over-exert myself.

I may be an atheist but I’m not a STUPID atheist and even I know that a belief in the power of prayer isn’t supposed to work exactly like that (or why doesn’t he just go to his local hospital and clear all the beds of patients?)

David isn’t quite as tolerant as I am (tolerant?  I know some of you don’t think that but believe me, he really is less tolerant).  He couldn’t understand why I didn’t just tell him to keep taking the tablets.

One comment

  1. You’re taking a very short-term view of this “cure”. I bet, sometime in the future, you won’t need the stick and THEN you’ll realise that his exhortation worked!



Leave a Reply

