h1

Ambo Day

25 November 2010

I got a bit sidetracked this week talking about my correspondence with my MP.  Incidentally, I have to say his email to me was quite reasonable and, if you saw Malcolm Turnbull talking about the same subject on Lateline the other night, you’ll know exactly what my MP said.  As David immediately commented “They’re all singing from the same songsheet – they’ve obviously been given an official line”.  I think it probably all boils down to the ballot box.  I really don’t think there’s much of a moral dilemma among these MPs – it’s all a polling dilemma:  Will they win or lose votes over the matter?

Anyway I forgot to mention that last Friday was National Thank A Paramedic Day apparently.  I read about this on Friday morning and immediately felt guilty that I’d never officially thanked the two paramedics who helped me when I fell over in the street in April.  They promise to locate the paramedics, thank them and place your thanks in their files. 

So I emailed the contact address, gave all the details (I didn’t remember their names – I blame the morphine) and thanked them profusely for the wonderful way they treated me.  I was on my own at the time so felt very vulnerable lying on the road surrounded by a group of strangers (kind and very helpful though these strangers were).  The paramedics were polite, professional and incredibly kind and thoughtful.  They also appeared to be extremely skilled but I suppose we take that as a given.

Anyway I sent my email and within an hour received a lovely reply saying that it had been passed on to the person in charge of that particular area.   

So thanks not only to those two but to all the Ambos** out there.

** Isn’t that a lovely word?  Every Australian job gets shortened for some reason, so we have posties who deliver the mail, milkos who (used to) deliver the milk and ambos who work out of ambulances, to name but a few.    

One comment

  1. Hear, hear.

    I work as a receptionist for a GP and that’s my experience of the ambos who are sometimes called to our office to a patient.

    I’m also thinking of the evening my father died at home. The paramedics arrived, and left when there was clearly nothing more to be done, but while they were there a lovely ambo supervisor arrived and stayed with us, to calm and reassure us, until friends arrived.



Leave a Reply

