h1

Well, You Know What I Mean

15 January 2011

I’ve just been reading a really funny forum thread about words that people misunderstand and mis-spell. I thought it would be good to share them as they’ve put a smile on my face all evening.

*  .Someone being described in a magazine as a Pre-Madonna.

*   The student who wrote about a particular author’s achievement in winning a pullet surprise.  (Say it out loud!)

*   In the days of working with dictaphones, in a legal office, a typist translated “The accused was found in bed with his paramour” into “The accused was found in bed with his power mower”.

One woman (in America) saw an ad in a local paper for a Sioux chef.  I’ve actually seen this in an Australian employment magazine about 6 years ago.  I sent the cutting to the Sydney Morning Herald where it was published in Column8.  (No Apache or Chinook chefs need apply, I presume).  

It doesn’t take much to make me laugh.

 

 

5 comments

  1. They made me laugh out loud too – particularly entertained by the pullet surprise.


  2. My errors are usually caused by being a very fast reader and thereby getting the wrong end of the stick. Eg: commuting to work, I glanced at my newspaper and saw that a transport expert had said that, to ease congestion on overloaded UK roads, more goods should be conveyed by camel.

    I then got off the train but gave this some thought during the day. On my journey home, I had time to read the whole article properly. The expert had in fact suggested that we could make better use of our existing and extensive system of Victorian-built canals…


  3. Well really, who says paramour?

    Have you seen cake wrecks? You’ll love it. It’s the icing results of commercial cakes gone terribly wrong.

    eg: Best wishes Suzannw. Underneath that. We will miss you.

    look here:http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/


    • The ‘paramour’ conversation took place quite a long time ago I presume – in the days of typing pools.

      LOVE Cake Wrecks! Thank you.


  4. My husband appeared before the Industrial Commission years ago, when his union was arguing for greater compensation for scientists who spend time at sea in the course of their work.

    He was asked about the added difficulties of being away from home. My husband said that, among other disadvantages, he was obliged to be celibate for weeks while he was working at sea.

    The transcription clerk was unfamiliar with this word – there’s not a lot of it about – and the final report stated that he was ‘celebrant’.

    He got ‘celebrant’ indeed when I read it!



Leave a Reply

