h1

A Marriage of Inconvenience

10 March 2011

Yesterday (the 9th) was our wedding anniversary – our 9th.  Last year I put up a picture of our wedding.  So for those of you who haven’t seen it, here it is again (I hadn’t remembered that I was so blond then! )

DSC00018

It was all rather unusual as weddings go.  David was working in Yuendumu, an Aboriginal community about 200 miles from Alice Springs.  It’s about a 5 hour drive from AS and there’s only one building on that long trip – a service station where we all went after the wedding for dinner and a party.  The community consisted of about 80 European Australians and about 1000 native Australians.  We were only the 5th couple ever to marry there and it was featured on the Aboriginal TV news.

I flew out from England for the wedding and flew back again 8 days later.  I had a job and a flat in London and only a tourist visa in Australia.  It was over a year before I actually moved here as a temporary resident, after persuading the Australian Government that this wasn’t a marriage of convenience but, no, we didn’t actually live together.  It was really a marriage of inconvenience.  I left my family, my friends, my work and home to marry David.  As we were still together 2 years later, I was granted Permanent Residence, and I later got citizenship (so they can’t kick me out).

3 comments

  1. I have a friend from the US who married an Australian and returned to Washington state three days later. She finally got her residency a year later and is now an Australian citizen too!

    Happy anniversary to you both.


  2. That is an entirely sweet wedding picture!
    Congratulations on your anniversary!


  3. Happy anniversary, Sally and David. I love reading about your wedding.



Leave a Reply

