h1

I Must Keep My Promise..I Must etc etc

16 March 2011

I promised myself that I’d blog every day in March – so far, so good.  But in Sydney there’s only half an hour of this day (16th) left, and so far nothing from me.  Must rectify before I go to bed.

A lot of my friends are in the throes of producing their garments to enter into the Easter Show, which runs from 14th to 27th April.  My entry? Zilch, zero, nothing.  I was determined last year that I’d enter something and tossed lots of ideas around over the last few months, but just couldn’t get inspired or motivated enough to actually produce anything (well, I’ve produced loads of things but nothing suitable for the show).

BUT I do get to do the review of the knitting for David at Sticks and String again, which I’m really looking forward to. I know we find lots of the entries rather bizarre, the display is dreadful and some of it is rather dispiriting.  But that’s offset by some truly gorgeous creations, beautifully knitted.  And then we nearly cry when we see what the “window dressers” have done to them.  I’ve seen legs of lamb at the butchers more artfully displayed.

Changes are afoot but whether there’ll be enough of them this year remains to be seen. 

4 comments

  1. I have an Accessories entry for “fairisle mittens” that I’m not gonna use, seeing as how I haven’t even casted on yet. So if you want to whip something up, go right ahead. đŸ™‚


  2. I am knitting socks and I dread to think what they are going to be displayed like. I suspect they will just be sitting there in a lump.


  3. Looking forward to listening to you and David’s reviews at the Easter Show.
    Sorry that nothing inspired you to have an entry.


  4. Am I misremembering that you’d heard that the Easter Show display habits were going to change this year?
    I hope so. We can hear the “cringe” in your voices as you try to politely describe what was done to the items being displayed.
    (fingers crossed…)



Leave a Reply

