h1

Your Help, Please.

7 January 2012

By sheer coincidence, a few days after I wrote here about my recent routine eye test, the sight in my right eye went extremely blurry.  I spent four hours at the optometrists (when I should have been packing to fly off to Vanuatu that afternoon) while she performed every test she could to ensure that I hadn’t got something as serious as a detached retina.  She decided I could go on holiday and arranged  an appointment for me with an opthalmic surgeon on my return.

The upshot of this is that I have a cataract but unfortunately not any old cataract.  It’s called a Posterior Polar cataract (unheard of by me before this). Apparently, it’s congenital (Thanks, Mum! – I inherited her dreadful eyesight and she had cataracts on both eyes removed but to my knowledge didn’t suffer from this problem). As you all know, cataract operations have become so routine, easy to perform and fairly cheap.  The ‘mishap’ rate is about 0.5%.  On the other hand . . . . Posterior Polar cataract operations are described both by my consultant and every website I’ve come across as “a challenge to the surgeon” with a 25% chance of going wrong. 

Now I’m not going to ask for medical advice from unqualified friends and strangers.  I have every confidence I’m pretty well covered there with an excellent surgeon.  But I would be very grateful to hear from anyone who has been through this surgery and would be willing to share their experience with me. I haven’t been able to find anyone with a similar problem so I feeling I’m going into the unknown here.

Just leave me a comment and I’ll get back to you.   

And thank you.    

3 comments

  1. Wishing you all the best as you move into unfamiliar territory. (I nearly said “go forward” but it’s so overdone!)


  2. I’ve not come across it either, sorry!

    Glad you got to go on holiday, anyway. And I suppose it’s a matter of potential risks vs benefits, but also vs how bad are thing anyway?

    You know that though…


  3. Why don’t you tweet, asking for experiences, and ask people to retweet. You never know, you may get something that way.



Leave a Reply

