h1

Sport and Me

30 January 2012

I’m not sure I’ve ever seen the words “sport” and “me” in the same sentence.  We just don’t mix.

I sometimes wonder if I’m the only person in Australia (apart from my husband) who has absolutely no interest in sport – zilch, zero, nil.  Cricket, football, tennis, whatever . . . it all leaves me cold.  I’m living in the wrong country probably as Australians in general are absolutely sport-obsessed. 

This year is going to be a bad year for me (and others like me . . . PLEASE tell me there are others like me).  We’ve already had the Australian Open Tennis championships on our TVs day and night, oodles of cricket matches, cycling ad infinitum.  But the best bit starts in the Northern Hemisphere summer – Wimbledon followed by the Olympic Games.  AND I’ll be in London during Wimbledon though return before the Games.

Now of course I don’t have to watch sport on television but I do like to watch the evening news, all but the last five minutes or so when the sports news starts and David and I fight to get to the remote control.    But during major tournaments the results are included in the ‘proper’ news, the ABC believing that the most important thing that’s happened in the world today is that Joe Bloggs (presuming he’s Australian) won a Gold Medal/broke a world record. 

May I point out to those who don’t know me that I’m not fat.  I wasn’t bullied at school.  I hated games lessons.  BUT funnily enough there were some games I was quite good at.  So my hatred doesn’t stem from an inability  to participate in any sports, just a lack of interest in doing so.  I was the Junior Cross Country champion one year,   I got a first in an inter-school swimming competition and on one very sad occasion I was actually picked to play for the school hockey team (sad for me that is – I didn’t want to play hockey during school hours so I most certainly didn’t want to give up my Saturday mornings to play.)  I was good at gymnastics because I was an acrobat.  I swam a lot with my father and sister, and until about 10 years ago, I enjoyed rollerskating.  So I’m not a complete couch-potato.  But because I can ride a bike, it doesn’t mean I want to watch anybody else ride a bike.

As I’ve got dual citizenship, I’ve been asked on a number of occasions “That must be awkward.  Which cricket team do you support?”  The truthful answer is that I don’t give a damn about either of them.  Why should I?  I’ve never played cricket, have no interest in watching cricket so if I cared about which team won, that would just indicate some sort of mindless tribal allegiance.  

I think I’m going to be reading a lot of books/watching a lot of films/doing a lot of knitting this year. 

6 comments

  1. I started watching the tennis before we had air-conditioning – it was an excuse to sit on front of the fan and knit small objects. Over the years I have enjoyed it more and more but only watched select matches over the past three weeks and only if I felt like doing some kind of handicrafts!

    On the other hand, I can’t bear cricket, ignore Rugby League as much as possible (in a house where WM has followed the same team since childhood) and refuse to watch most other sports, except the swimming during the Olympics. And then I only care if Australia is doing well!


  2. You’re definitely not the only Aussie who isn’t into sports. I turn off when there is any type of sports talk or sports action going. I’ve been to an AFL game, and while I have NO idea what is going on, it’s at least not as hard to look at as Tennis or swimming.


  3. I’ve said this on here before, I think, but I believe it’s about how one feels about competitiveness. If I don’t care whether or not I win, it’s no fun for the person competing against me. If I don’t care which team wins – if winning isn’t important – then there’s no point watching the game/challenge/fight or whatever.


  4. Snap!

    Though I do like the F1 – the only sport where the competitors face a real chance of dying…


  5. Are you REALLY an Aussie, Tia? I’m surprised you haven’t been deported. And Lara, you must have been very sad to see the Coliseums close.


  6. So speaks the Commonwealth Needle Clacking Champion (apparently). You can’t expel competitiveness entirely. Indeed true of your sister – The British All-Comers record holder of The Last Word.



Leave a Reply

