h1

Choosing What To Enter

2 March 2012

This year, I’m entering the Easter Show.  I’ve paid my money and have received all the paperwork.  The only thing I don’t have at the moment is a finished piece of knitting!

Choosing what to enter is a bit of a problem – do you pick something that you think will appeal to the judges?  Or something you’d really like to knit for yourself?  Do you choose something similar to so many of the items that win prizes, ie rather old-fashioned designs (in the garment categories that is), or do you try to enter something a little more modern?

I chose a fairly modern design because the idea of spending all that time knitting something I’d never wear seemed pointless, just in the hope it may get a ribbon.  It had to be something that the judges would know I’d spent a fair amount of time and effort on but I didn’t want that time and effort to be just drudgery.  I knit for FUN – I don’t like chores whether they involve the use of a vacuum cleaner or a pair of knitting needles.

I still haven’t finished the sweater – I started it in December –  but I’m on the final leg.  I’m BORED with it and having got this far, I’m not even sure I’ll wear it.   

There’s also another problem which hadn’t really dawned on me when I was deciding what to knit.  My jumper looks better from the back than the front!  Now as a lot of you would know by now, this wouldn’t necessarily be a problem at the Easter Show because in the past so many items have been hung upside down and back to front.  But this year I THINK they may just get it right – they’ve got expert help.  

I doubt it’s a prize-winner (not perfect enough) but I’ll post a picture once the Show starts. 

And maybe after it’s been out of my hands at the Show for a few weeks, I may actually decide I like it enough to wear it once I get it back.   

8 comments

  1. I’ll wear it!!!


  2. Trust you to immediately put your hand up! I’m not sure it would suit you any more than it does me. But if you like it, I’LL GIVE YOU THE PATTERN and you can knit it yourself.


  3. Hi Sally, if you’re on the final LEG of the sweater then I’m sure it is a non-traditional design, but it would be very interesting to see how they hang it. 🙂


    • OK, OK. I missed that one! And they’ll hang it beautifully – don’t ask me how I know why!


  4. Very good, David. Looking forward to seeing it, Sally.


  5. Darn it, somebody beat me to the “leg” comment!


  6. Seems we were all tempted the the “Leg” pundit opportunities.
    Sally, I can’t wait to see exactly what you knit, if it improves to your eye with finishing and final try-on, and the big question – how it will be presented in the Easter Show. ?!?
    This will be an especially interesting Sticks & String Easter Show review!


  7. Can’t wait to see it! And to know which way up they manage to peg it…



Leave a Reply

