h1

The Story . . . So Far!

10 March 2012

A comment here yesterday asked “Have you told us about how you met?”  And I’m not sure I have, so here goes.

When I returned to London after spending 4 years travelling around Australia when I was in my 20’s, I enrolled in drama classes as I’d done a bit of acting in Oz.  And there was David.  I liked him, he liked me, so we had a bit of a ‘thing’ for a while.  It didn’t work out but we stayed very good friends.  Four years later, I married my first husband and David was a guest at the wedding.  Two years after that, David married, had a son and moved to Sydney for work. 

He kept in touch rather spasmodically and would visit us on visits to London.  On one visit, he learned that my first husband and I had separated (after nearly 10 years) and by the time of his next trip a couple of years later, he and his wife had also separated (I must point out that there is no connection between these two events).

About two years after that  he moved back to London and lived near me.  And he invited me to a Bonfire Night Party, an occasion I love.  Really cold except for the huge bonfire, fireworks, lovely music, hot drinks.  And a couple of nights later, he asked if I’d like to go to Paris for a weekend before Christmas.  I considered this for a nano-second and of course said “Yes”. 

We spent the next year as an “item” then he returned to Australia for work in Yuendumu and because his son was in Australia.  So we started commuting.  I’d fly out to him, which involved a 13 hour flight to Kuala Lumpur, 5 hours flight to Darwin, more than 2 hours flight to Alice Springs, then a 4-5 hour drive. And he came to England for visits.  On one occasion we both travelled from our respective homes and met up in India for a month.  Then he proposed.  We intended to get married in England but because of the laws of residency before a marriage can take place there, it wasn’t really possible so we married in Australia.

Our wedding took place more than 23 years after our first meeting. 

Nine days after the wedding, I had to return to England as I didn’t have an Australian residency visa and a couple of months after that, David came over so that we could have a wedding party with friends and family.  We then went on a belated honeymoon to Bali and back to Australia.  I helped him move everything from Yuendumu to Sydney, found a flat and then off I went back to London again to sell my flat there and await my visa.  I eventually moved out to Sydney a couple of weeks after our first wedding anniversary with a temporary residents visa, and I now have dual citizenship. 

So that’s the story.  It’s quite romantic really.  What I find truly romantic is that David, whose memory for the minutiae of life is normally not very good, really remembers our first meeting, where he was sitting and our conversation.   As do I.

3 comments

  1. Lovely – that really bought a smile or two to my face – I hope you have many more happy years together.


  2. I love to hear the stories of how people met.
    Thank you for sharing and for the smile!


  3. Thank you for sharing that story – very romantic.



Leave a Reply

