h1

Are You Sitting Comfortably?

17 March 2012

Then I’ll begin.

I’d like to tell you a story of the time when I worked for a company in Hertfordshire.  This was in the building which also housed a well-known hand-dyed yarn and publishing company.  In the same complex was a Post Office.

The yarn company sent out yarn, naturally, which appeared to get lost in the post with monotonous regularity. Apparently replacements also disappeared in the postal system.

The company I worked for sent parcels which contained beer.  They all reached their destinations.

I don’t know whether all these missing parcels were reported to the postal authorities or the police and I don’t want to make too many assumptions about postal workers. BUT I would have thought any investigation would have centred around teetotal Royal Mail employees with a passion for knitting perhaps?  Which would have maybe narrowed the field a bit.

PS:  I’ve amended this since I first posted it.  I said that the office was in Essex, but it was in Hertfordshire, on the Herts/Essex border.  Apologies to any Essex postal workers.

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

2 comments

  1. Maybe they were selling the yarn on ebay, much like one could sell, say, Rowan mags?

    Oh, wait…

    🙂


  2. Curiouser and curiouser! LOL



Leave a Reply

