h1

No Skill Required

19 June 2013

A friend of mine – a knitter –  told me that at a recent dinner she’d attended, one of the women informed her that quilting was very different from knitting because of the skill that quilting requires, whereas once you’ve learnt to knit you can knit anything. 

I think I must be a bit slow on the uptake because I’ve been knitting for over 50 years and every month I learn something new, very often from one of you or from the internet in general.  My mother who was a very accomplished knitter, was learning new techniques from me well into her 80s.

And there was me thinking that quilting was just about cutting up perfectly good fabric and then sewing it together again. 

9 comments

  1. Really? Did that lady really try knitting? And by that, I mean did she try making socks, learning various heel flaps, or a cardigan or jumper both shoulder down and hem up? And not learn anything new? Really?

    Silly woman


  2. Words fail me.


  3. and once you have learned to sew, you can sew anything………(rolls eyes)


  4. I recall a comedy sketch from the dim distant past:
    “This week we’ll be making a patchwork table cloth from some old skirts… You’ll then be ready for next week’s session, in which we make a skirt from a patchwork tablecloth.”


  5. Well I’m ready to move onto my next craft, now that I know it all about knitting!


    • I’m intending to learn and master the art of embroidery, week-commencing 1st July. Perhaps you’d like to join me?


  6. *facepalm*


  7. {grin} Good to know that I can officially knit “anything”.
    I love the comment about cutting up perfectly good fabric…
    I’m going to be taking that to a whole ‘nother level of crazy. I’ll be learning how to weave perfectly good fabric which I will then cut up to make – well, not a quilt. 😉 Clothing is the ultimate goal. We’ll see what happens.


  8. As a knitter who quilts, I say “bah humbug” to that ignorant and condescending comment! Like you, I am a life long learner in both of my chosen crafts as well as in others of my life!



Leave a Reply

