h1

Get Your Free Hankies Here

5 July 2013

I do meet some interesting people travelling on public transport.

A couple of days ago, a woman plonked herself down next to me – she was panting and sweating profusely having obviously run for the train.  She used a bit of the free newspaper available at stations to wipe her neck.  I had an unopened packet of paper tissues in my bag, so I handed it to her and asked if she’d like “one of these”. 

She thanked me, and put the packet (still unopened) in her handbag! 

My (inadvertent) good deed for the day, I suppose.

3 comments

  1. About 4-5 years ago I was at a wedding on a very hot day and the bride was ridiculously late. I had had the forethought to bring a small electric fan with me. A baby was crying in the row behind, so I offered the parents my fan to cool it down. A couple of minutes later, I saw the father taking the baby out of the room and the mother used my fan on herself for the rest of the ceremony while I sweated my socks off!


  2. That’s really funny


  3. I was on the bus to the airport to fly from Japan to Honolulu. I had just been to the Yokohama quilt show. There were other quilters next to me who were from Honolulu. They asked me what I purchased. I showed them these cute little rulers. They asked to look at them and never gave them back. I think something was lost in translation . I was just speechless.



Leave a Reply

