h1

A Truly Memorable Evening

2 March 2014

I go to orchestral performances about 4 or 5 times a year and have been really lucky to have seen some of the music world’s greatest orchestras, performers and conductors.

As a child, I attended a performance of the Halle Orchestra with Malcolm Sargent, I’ve seen the Israel Philarmonic conducted by Zubin Mehta and with Itzhak Perlman as one of the soloists.  And more recently the Sydney Symphony conducted by Vladimir Ashkenazy. 

But last night I went to a performance by the Willoughby Symphony, one of Sydney’s less famous musical ensembles, at the Concourse Concert Hall in Chatswood  I remember the first time I saw them I wasn’t expecting much but was VERY impressed. And last night’s performance will be one that stays with me for life. 

The whole evening was devoted to Verdi, and included operatic soloists and the Willoughby Choir.  It was theatrical, entertaining, and BEAUTIFULLY performed.  The conductor, Nicholas Milton, has just been appointed to one of the German orchestras, which is a pity as if he were working in the UK, he’d be a natural for the Last Night of the Proms.  He was knowledgeable, articulate and funny. 

The performance was mesmerising, the place was packed and the foyer was buzzing with superlatives during the interval. 

A trip to Chatswood may not be as exhilarating as one to the Opera House, but do please bear them in mind when planning a musical evening out..  This was world-class music.

2 comments

  1. It was great, wasn’t it? I was also pleasantly surprised by how much my kids enjoyed it.


  2. I loved it too.



Leave a Reply

