h1

WWKIP Sydney

7 May 2010

WWKIP logo10_1

As you may appreciate, with the “problems” I’ve had lately, I’m a bit behind in the organisation of this year’s event.  But I’m catching up and most arrangements can be made over the internet.  Where I need legs, two good friends have offered me the use of theirs.

So, this is where we are so far:

Saturday 12th June – 1.30:5.00pm   Abraham Mott Community Hall, Argyle Place, Millers Point (The Rocks).  About 10 minutes walk from Circular Quay.  There’s a bus terminus outside the Hall for Routes 431, 432, 433, 434 and 343.

No food is available for sale so feel free to bring your own.  Hot and cold drinks will be provided for a donation to costs.

We have TWO competitions.  The first is a brain-power and knitting knowledge one, with a wonderful 1st prize of a basket of goodies donated by Mosman Needlecraft (and if you saw the basket Debbie donated last year, you’ll certainly want to be entering this).  The second is a knitting competition, just for fun.  If you want to enter, bring along a few grams of yarn (4-8ply) with the appropriate needles or crochet hook, if you prefer.

There will be lots of prizes for both the competitons, plus door prizes.  I’ll give you a list nearer the time but you can look forward to beautiful yarns from Kaalund Yarns, Knitabulous and Celia’s Basket, just for starters.  The event is being supported this year by Yarn Magazine, whose logo will be alongside this year’s Sydney WWKIP one (same style as last year – different yarn) on tote bags available for sale on the day.

 Last year, 80 people turned up and we spilled out of the restaurant.  So this year, we’ve got a bigger venue and here’s hoping we can fill it.  I’m looking forward to seeing loads of you for what I hope will be a really good afternoon of FUN.

Technorati Tags:

6 comments

  1. I’ll be there, and can donate a prize…


  2. The new logo looks terrific, Sally. I hope to be able to come. Should we all “bring a plate” to share?

    And if there’s anything I can do to help you, please shout.

    When can we order a bag?


  3. I listen to David Reidy’s podcast and I always enjoy your participation during the Easter Show episodes. Get better soon!


  4. You just needed something to occupy your time, right? LOL


  5. Hi!

    Just posted your event onto my crafting group’s bog – hope you don’t mind!

    http://sydneycrafternoon.blogspot.com/p/events.html


  6. […] For all details about time and place, see my post here. […]



Leave a comment